Twitter: vakids

Trauma-Informed Community Networks

Trauma-Informed Community Networks (TICNs)

Throughout Virginia, there are more than 19 communities coming together across disciplines around trauma-informed care. Most often in Virginia these groups form as trauma-informed community networks (TICNs). Some of these are well established with regular meetings and leadership structures. Other are just beginning the conversations. In each of these communities, these networks share common characteristics: spreading awareness, conducting training, support and implement new practices in schools, courts, and community services, and much more. These TICNs help to connect practice across disciplines and help to identify gaps and how policies can be implemented. Virginia’s community networks play a key role in advancing trauma-informed policy and promoting a statewide policy agenda. 

To learn more about the activities Trauma Informed Community Networks are tackling across Virginia read more examples in this booklet produced by the Families and Children’s Trust Fund: Virginia’s Trauma Informed Community Networks.

 

We are here at the Southside Trauma-Informed Community Network Meeting (STICN)! Meet the STICN leader, Brian Little, with Crater Health District and today’s presenter, Danita Rountree Green. To hear about trauma-informed initiatives happening at the local level, visit vakids.org to learn about more about trauma-informed community networks near you! #TraumaInformedVA

Posted by Voices for Virginia's Children on Thursday, September 20, 2018

Trauma-Informed Community Networks 

(Click on the links for more information)

Organization Name Leader(s) Leader(s) Contact Information Host Organization
Amherst TICN Joni Tables Jatables@countyofamherst.com County of Amherst
Charlottesville TICN Alicia Lenahan Alenahan@pcasa.org and Trauma@pcasa.org Piedmont CASA
Campbell County Community Resilience Network (CRN) Cristy Horsley Cristy@cvcasa.org  Central Virginia CASA
Caroline Virginia Community Resilience Network Antonio O. Clinkscales Aclinkscales@ccps.us Community Based Organization
Eastern Shore TICN Kelly Bulin and Patti Kiger Kbulin@escsb.org and Kigerpg@evms.edu Eastern Shore Community Service Board and Eastern Virginia Medical School
Fairfax TICN Christina Cunningham Christina.Cunningham@fairfaxcounty.gov Prevention Unit of the Fairfax County Department of Neighborhood Community Services
Hampton Roads TICN Erinn Portnoy and Susan Fincke Erinn.Portnoy@chkd.org and Smfincke@fopjc.org Community Based Organization with the support of the United Way of South Hampton Roads
Harrisonburg-Rockingham Community Resilience Network (CRN) April Howard and Greg Czyszczon Ahoward@harrisonburg.k12.va.us and Gczyszczon@gmail.com Community Based Organization
Lynchburg Community Network Ashley Graham Agraham@humankind.org Human Kind
Piedmont TICN Carol Lucking and Jamie Clancey Carol.lucking15@gmail.com and Jamiemdclancey@gmail.com The Piedmont TICN
Prince William TICN Allyson Halverson and Heather Martinsen Ahalverson@scanva.org and Hmartinsen@pwgov.org Northern Virginia Stop Child Abuse Now
Rappahanock Region TICN Michelle Wagaman Mwagaman@rappahannockareacsb.org Community Collaborative for Youth and Families
Greater Richmond TICN Melissa McGinn and Lisa Wright Mmcginn@grscan.com and Lwright@grscan.com Greater Richmond Stop Child Abuse Now
Roanoke TICN Lisa Denny, Janice Davidson, and Judge Rogers Lisa.Denny@roact.org, Janice.Davidson@roact.org, and Fwrogers@vacourts.gov Roanoke Children’s Trust
TICN of Southwest Virginia Robyn Raines Rraines@unitedwayswva.org United Way of Southwest Virginia
Southside TICN Brian Little, STICN Coordinator Brian.Little@vdh.virginia.gov VA Department of Health Crater Health District
Virginia Peninsula Trauma-Informed Committee (VPTIC) Julie Duregger Jduregger@smartbeginningsvp.org Smart Beginnings Virginia Peninsula

 

Emerging Trauma-Informed Community Initiatives

Connect with these individuals having conversations about trauma in their communities!

(Click on the links for more information)

Location Leader(s) Leader(s) Contact Information Host Organization
Alexandria Chelsea Eickert Chelsea.Eickert@alexandriava.gov Department of Community and Human Services
Loudoun County Allyson Halverson Ahalverson@scanva.org Northern Virginia Stop Child Abuse Now
Northern Neck Chad Lewis Chad.Lewis@havenshelter.org Haven Shelter