Twitter: vakids

Trauma-Informed Community Networks

Trauma-Informed Community Networks (TICNs)

Throughout Virginia, there are more than 18 communities coming together across disciplines around trauma-informed care. Most often in Virginia these groups form as trauma-informed community networks (TICNs). Some of these are well established with regular meetings and leadership structures. Other are just beginning the conversations. In each of these communities, these networks share common characteristics: spreading awareness, conducting training, support and implement new practices in schools, courts, and community services, and much more. These TICNs help to connect practice across disciplines and help to identify gaps and how policies can be implemented. Virginia’s community networks play a key role in advancing trauma-informed policy and promoting a statewide policy agenda. 

“Trauma & Resilience 101” Training for Child-Serving Professionals

In addition to the local training offered by TICN networks, other experts including Dr. Allison Jackson of Integration Solutions and John Richardson-Lauve of ChildSavers have conducted  hundreds of“Trauma & Resilience 101” training for groups throughout the state, including free clinics and Head Start staff.

ACE Interface Training

Stakeholder groups identified by Community Services Boards are participating in ACE Interface training with the support of the Department of Behavioral Health Development Authorities and leadership of Keith Cartwright and Colleen Hughes.

Is your community tackling conversations about trauma-informed care? Please let us know who to connect with!

Trauma-Informed Community Networks 

(Click on the links for more information)

Organization Name Leader(s) Leader(s) Contact Information Host Organization
Charlottesville TICN Alicia Lenahan Alenahan@pcasa.org and Trauma@pcasa.org Piedmont CASA
Campbell County Community Resilience Network (CRN) Cristy Horsley Cristy@cvcasa.org  Central Virginia CASA
Eastern Shore TICN Kelly Bulin and Patti Kiger Kbulin@escsb.org and Kigerpg@evms.edu Eastern Shore Community Service Board and Eastern Virginia Medical School
Fairfax TICN Christina Cunningham Christina.Cunningham@fairfaxcounty.gov Prevention Unit of the Fairfax County Department of Neighborhood Community Services
Hampton Roads TICN Erinn Portnoy and Susan Fincke Erinn.Portnoy@chkd.org and Smfincke@fopjc.org Community Based Organization with the support of the United Way of South Hampton Roads
Harrisonburg-Rockingham Community Resilience Network (CRN) Greg Czyszczon Gczyszczon@gmail.com Community Based Organization
Lynchburg Community Network Ashley Graham Agraham@humankind.org Human Kind
Piedmont TICN Jamie Clancey Jamiemdclancey@gmail.com The Piedmont TICN
Prince William TICN Allyson Halverson and Heather Martinsen Ahalverson@scanva.org and Hmartinsen@pwgov.org Northern Virginia Stop Child Abuse Now
Greater Richmond TICN Melissa McGinn and Lisa Wright Mmcginn@grscan.com and Lwright@grscan.com Greater Richmond Stop Child Abuse Now
Roanoke TICN Lisa Denny, Janice Davidson, and Judge Rogers Lisa.Denny@roact.org, Janice.Davidson@roact.org, and Fwrogers@vacourts.gov Roanoke Children’s Trust
Southside TICN Brian Little, STICN Coordinator Brian.Little@vdh.virginia.gov VA Department of Health Crater Health District

 

Emerging Trauma-Informed Community Initiatives

Connect with these individuals having conversations about trauma in their communities!

(Click on the links for more information)

Location Leader(s) Leader(s) Contact Information Host Organization
Abingdon Florence Powell Fpowell@vacourts.gov Virginia Judicial System
Alexandria Chelsea Eickert Chelsea.Eickert@alexandriava.gov Department of Community and Human Services
Loudoun County Allyson Halverson Ahalverson@scanva.org Northern Virginia Stop Child Abuse Now
Mt. Rogers Ruth Cox Ruth.cox@mrcsb.state.va.us Mt. Rogers Community Service Board
Northern Neck Chad Lewis Chad.Lewis@havenshelter.org Haven Shelter
Smyth County Dennis Carter and Patty Warren Denniscarter@scsb.org and Pattywarren@scsb.org Smyth County School Board